Mahals of the Nawabs of Pakistan

Image

Gulzar Mahal ~Bahawalpur,Pakistan

Image

Darbar Mahal ~Bahawalpur,Pakistan

Went on a trip to Bahwalpur Pakistan to visit my cousins and historical sites…..
These mahals as they’re called were absolutely AMAZING! I felt honoured to be able to see them first hand.
Did you know that the ‘Nawabs’ who owned these buildings solely funded the Pakistani government when Pakistan was formed in 1947 for a whole 3 months! Thats how rich they were!
The Gulzar mahal was their guest house and the Darbar mahal was their office. I visited their house ‘Noor mahal’ too but I didn’t take a picture of it. The buildings were taken over by the army when the family’s descendants began squabbling over them.
The Noor mahal is open for tourists on weekends but the other two aren’t. Very few people are allowed inside because the army colonels,majors etc use the rooms as offices. I was allowed in because my uncle is a colonel.

6 responses

  1. I just want to tell you that I am new to blogging and absolutely loved this web page. Likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You definitely come with outstanding well written articles. Thank you for revealing your web-site.

    Like

  2. I’d been honored to obtain a call from a friend immediately he uncovered the important guidelines shared in your site. Reading through your blog write-up is a real amazing experience. Thanks again for taking into consideration readers at all like me, and I wish you the best of success like a professional in this area.

    Like

  3. The Durbar Mahal was my Divisional Headquarters in 2001/2002; And if you happened to visit the General’ office I had renovated it, scrapped all the polish, brass polished the latches, removed the false ceilngs and put glass with ‘Pelican’ badge etched. I have a similar picture taken at night. Well done you for posting this.

    Like

    1. Thanks 🙂 I wish I could have seen it too. I wanted to go in and explore all the rooms but my siblings were like dying from the heat 😛 So they dragged me back home

      Like

  4. You have mentioned very interesting points! ps nice site.

    Like

Share your opinion

