Chapter 1

Chapter 1

‘The fox sprinted across the field, too quick to be struck by the arrow which landed a meter away.

“Guess we’ll have to do without dinner tonight, little one.” sighed Ellie’s father. “It’s getting late and the animals have the advantage.”

Ellie’s eyes begin to water but she looks down so that her father can’t see. She hadn’t had a decent meal in days and the famine was getting worse. They had sold their land and poaching animals for their fur was their only source of income. But her father was trying his best and the least she could do was support him, after all it wasn’t his fault he had to……………’

“ZAHRA!”

I jerk back to reality on hearing my name. My surprise and shock quickly turn to irritation, what now? Sighing, I close the book and lazily get off the sofa. Might as well get this over with. Slipping on my hideous yellow flip flops I make a mental note to tell my dad again, how much I hate them and trudge towards the kitchen, where I think I heard my mum calling me from. I hope she’s calling me for milk or something….. but then again would I prefer milk over chores? I hate milk, no hate is a strong word and you shouldn’t hate food……well then I dislike milk. Maybe chores would be better, I decide just as I reach the doorway, I mean how much work could she possibly need me to do at this hour? It’s almost 10.

The kitchen however, is empty but I groan when I see the mess inside. Bilal has obviously been experimenting again, leaving everything for me to clean up. As I redirect myself to my mum’s room I already know the verdict. The injustice makes my blood boil. What the hell? Why should I clean up after him? He’s fifteen for God’s sake. He’s old enough to be held responsible and accountable for his actions. But that’s not how it works in my house. No sirree  it’s my job to pick up after my brother and sister because I’m the oldest and I’m a girl. I don’t mind doing work around the house, what I do mind is doing their work. I mean, they should do it themselves; I’m not the only one with hands. Not this time though, I vow to myself.

Feel free to take out mistakes……. 🙂 still working on the rest. This is NOT the full chapter.

Share your opinion

